Feb 19, 2019, 06:56 pm

News:

Backup those files BEFORE manually editing them


NEWS

{NEW} -Theme is about 90% done. A bit more to do

{OLD} -More touches are needed. Will do this today.

Web building Videos
These will be posted in the Video Tuts board, check it out.

Internal Links

SMF Sites

Quick Info

What to do with mods when upgrading between versions.

Started by LandyVlad, Feb 11, 2019, 11:35 pm

Previous topic - Next topic

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

LandyVlad

Feb 11, 2019, 11:35 pm Last Edit: Feb 11, 2019, 11:38 pm by LandyVlad
My brain is mush today....


With mods in general (and things like TP, SMF gallery, etc in particular) when an SMF version upgrade is needed the advice is generally to uninstall the mods, and then reinstall after the upgrade, correct?

When unistalling should the delete option also be selected, or can they just be left there ready to reinstall?


Assuming one doesn't tick the delete files option when uninstalling - on reinstall is all content, data, and settings retained?

live627

Mushy brain? Just look at an anatomy poster and you'll see why! Who made that mess! ;D

When upgrading between release candidates, you overwrite the files. You run the upgrader. Boring, routine stuff.

I don't know if the upgrader removes integration hooks. In fact, I don't even know if it clears the package log. I guess this is stuff I should really know. But I'm getting burnt out on all this garbage again so bleh.

So I'm not 100% on this sort of thing. My best guess is that you should uninstall all mods first. There is a checkbox entitled "Remove all data associated with this mod". Leave it empty. Don't need to delete any files.